Output of the Week: Read, Write and Make the Sight Words

 

Teaching the Basic Sight Words is one of the challenging tasks that we do as teachers of young children. The fundamental, and traditional, strategy is repetition and drill because it will help them familiarize the words later on.

By searching on the internet, I found this very nice worksheet (credits to the author) which I use in my class for my students to learn and master the Sight Words I teach or introduce to them. It will also help them learn how to spell the words.

The worksheet was divided into three parts. The first part is intended for the students to read the words. The second part is for them to write (spell) the words for practice. The last part is a cut-and-paste activity wherein they are going to locate the letters that would make up the given words and form them.

The activity will also improve left-right orientation and eye-hand coordination.

Take a look of some of the output of my students below:

12767561_10207454214768591_274216917_n

Happy teaching!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started