Lesson Ideas: Skip Counting

There are a lot of activities can do to teach the concept of skip counting. Let me share some of the things I did to teach the concept.

 

1. Skip Counting Train

I let the students discover and guess the next number by the drawings and I open it to confirm their answers.

This is one of the materials I created at the last minute. So, you may improve it using stickers, cutouts or 3D pictures.

IMG_20140731_161912

2. Arrange Yourselves

Same as what I did with Counting Numbers, I had 10 pupils pick up a number and they will have to arrange themselves in descending order. The students really like it. 🙂

If you have time, you may have other set of 10 students  to do the same thing.

Skip Countiny by 10s

Credit to my co-teacher Ma’am Remy Velez for making  and for letting me borrow the “Numbers on Flowers”. 🙂

3. Skip Count Train Worksheet

I was able to download the following worksheet and I used it for the students to learn skip counting.

The output on the 2nd photo is from one of my students

IMG_20140731_162304

IMG_20140731_161510

4. Youtube Videos

These are just some of the videos I used to reinforce the lesson:

 

You may also use these ideas to teach Skip Counting by 2s, 5s, and so on…

Happy Teaching!!!! 🙂

 

To download the worksheet above or if you want to contribute on this website, please give me your email by leaving a comment below.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started